Gnarliest Workout in Weeks

1 07 2011

Hey everyone!

So glad to see all your wonderful comments!  I’ve missed blogging a lot but I’ve been so busy, and with Brandon leaving soon any bit of time I get to spend with him I’m going to take!

I’ve recently become a little obsessed with Tabata Training.

What is it?  The fastest way to burn fat!

“The High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT), also known as the Tabata Protocol, was developed by the head coach of the Japanese speed skating team. It was named after Dr. Izumi Tabata because Tabata and his team (at the National Institute of Fitness and Sports in Kanoya, Japan) studied the speed skating coach’s workout to determine the optimum protocol [1].

A 4 minute cardiovascular training routine has been proven to improve fitness. The whole session last 14 minutes and comprises of a 5 minute warm up, 4 minutes of intense exercise and a 5 minute cool down. The 4 minutes of intense exercise comprises of 8 repeats of 20 seconds of maximum effort work of your selected exercise followed by a recovery of 10 seconds.

In Tabata’s study, the researchers found that athletes who used the routine five days a week for six weeks improved their maximum aerobic capacity by 14% and improved their anaerobic capacity by 28%. A study of traditional aerobic training of running at 70% of aerobic capacity for 60 minutes for six weeks showed an improvement in aerobic capacity of 9.5% and no effect on anaerobic capacity.

Dr. Tabata’s Team found that as well as improving your aerobic and anaerobic capacity it is very effective in lowering the ratio of lean body mass to fat without compromising your muscle size (http://www.brianmac.co.uk/tabata.htm).”

This workout is dedicated to those of you who love the feeling of being WORKED OUT, and I literally mean WORKED OUT!

Extreme Tabata

Warm-Up:

*Offset Loaded Front Pillar (30 seconds each hand)

*Push-up to opposite hand to opposite knee (10 reps, 5 ea. leg)

(you’ll see the push-up in this video)

*KB Dead lift —> burpee (12, I used 25′s)

x3

Workout:

4 min of 20 sec on 10 sec rest:

*High Knees Jump Rope

4 min of 20 sec on 10 sec rest:

Squat Jumps

4 min of 20 sec on 10 sec rest:

Plank Up->Up->Down-> Down….aka Norma Gene’s :-)

(this is me demonstrating the move in this video….i know I love seeing videos of other bloggers so I’ve added a few of me in here!)

4 min of 20 sec on 10 sec rest:

Sprints on Treadmill at speed of 12

4 min of 20 sec on 10 sec rest:

KB Swings with 25 KB (next time I’ll use a 30)

Then I ended with this favorite core workout of mine :-)

If you give this a try let me know what you think!  Tabata is by far my all time favorite thing ever!

Have a wonderful 4th of July Weekend, and stay safe!

Actions

Information

3 responses

1 07 2011
lindsay

oh me oh my!! thats KILLER! i like it. ;)

1 07 2011
Heather @ Heather's Dish

Um I did this this morning and I am so sore! Loved it though :)

7 07 2011
kbwood

WOW these are awesome!! SO HARDCORE! I think this would be a nice change from regular cardio!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

