Happy BURP-Day!

8 07 2011

TGIF!

Man, this week has been busy-awesome, and full of DOMINATION!

I started out the week right by training clients all Monday morning, then heading out for a fun lake sesh with Brandon, and then an early Tuesday morning bootcamp class (everyone that took it completely owned it!), sorting out of the storage unit at ACTIVE Life, then off to Bikram Yoga with some potential Lululemons!

Ok, so I have some good news…..

I have been spending the past few weeks interviewing for Lululemon (opening up a brand new store in The Domain here in ATX in September!) and today I found out I GOT THE JOB!  I am so stoked, ya’ll I have been wanting to work for this company for years now, so it feels amazing to actually have been extended the offer!  I won’t start till the end of August when training starts, but I’m so stoked to know that I will be a part of such an amazing company with a great purpose!

Part of the interviewing process was to go to a group class (such as yoga, which is staying true to the roots of our company) so we all went to a Bikram yoga class at Yogagroove here in Austin, and I LOVED IT!  It felt so amazing to be back in the Bikram studio getting my stretch on and my sweat on.  I have been going every single day and I already feel the changes in my body (positive ones).  I will be dedicating a post solely to Lululemon, and then another one to Bikram Yoga so ya’ll get understand both of my obsessions.

TODAY’S OBSESSION is…..

dun dun dun…..

BURPEES!

My ALL TIME favorite move ever!  Seriously, it is such a wonderful move, and especially in tabata format you will most definitely reap TONS of benefits!

A Few benefits are…..

“The burpee is the ultimate full body exercise. There’s a reason why football teams, CrossFit practitioners, and elite military forces use the burpee in their workouts. Just one simple movement tests both your strength and aerobic capacities. Below we go into a few more details on the benefits of the burpee:

Strength. The burpee is a full body, strength training exercise. With each repetition, you’ll work your chest, arms, front deltoids, thighs, hamstrings, and abs. Trust me. Your legs will feel like they’re pumping battery acid after you complete a set of burpees.

Fat burning. Because you’re using your full body when doing burpees and because they’re such an intense workout, the burpee is one of the best exercises to burn fat. Studies have shown that high intensity exercises, like burpees, burn up to 50% more fat than conventional strength training exercises. They’ve also been shown to speed up your metabolism which helps you burn more calories throughout the day. If you’re looking to get rid of that spare tire, step off the elliptical machine and start doing burpees.

Conditioning. Many men today spend hours a week in the gym sculpting washboard abs and bowling ball biceps. While those muscles look nice, they don’t do much for you when you have to split a giant pile of wood or even save your own life. Burpees are an effective exercise for developing the conditioning and endurance, the manly vim and vigor to tackle any challenge. They’re also a great exercise to include in football conditioning drills.

Free. There are no fancy gizmos, classes or gym memberships required to perform a burpee. All you need is your body, a floor, and an iron will.

Portable. You can do this exercise anywhere. On the road? Bust some out in the hotel room. Don’t have a gym membership? Get your burpee on at the park. In prison? Do them in your cell.”

(http://artofmanliness.com/2010/01/27/the-burpee-the-one-exercise-to-rule-them-all/ ).

Here is a video of me doing a few burpees so you can visually see what the technique should look like :-)

ALL my clients have been doing them today, my bootcamps, and if my spin classes could do them on the bike you better believe we would! :-)

I hope you all have a wonderful “burp-day!”

for more workout options check out these videos:

and last but not least :-)

watch?v=1tYuaBGLKs0&feature=autoplay&list=ULOX3gToD2gow&index=2&playnext=1


Actions

Information

5 responses

8 07 2011
lindsay

oh i love burpees too! i’ll come do that workout with you next time!

8 07 2011
Salah

Perfect! What does your Sunday look like this weekend?

11 07 2011
(what runs) Lori

Dude! These are awesome videos and AWESOME exercises! I want to teach boot camp classes now!!! ahhhh! You’ve totally got me all pumped up!

And congrats on the Lulu job! I’d use every single penny of my paycheck to get clothes. It would be bad…but wonderful. :)

11 07 2011
Michelle {The Lively Kitchen}

OOh – can you get me a discount if I come to Austin to shop? I’ll love you forever…. :)

Congrats on the new job! Sounds like an amazing opportunity. I got a groupon for some Bikram in San Antonio and get to start a 10 class pass in August, once my munchkins go back to school. I’m already looking forward to it. I really like Bikram, it’s just hard to find the time for it when I have the kiddos at home.

17 07 2011
Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel

i have a love-hate relationship with burpees. hate doing them- love when its over haha, and i love the workout you get from them too of course :P

xo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

