HOT DIGGITY!

21 01 2010

MORNING EVERYONE!

I am terribly sorry I did not post anything like i had promised but i was having some silly internet issues, and was way to tired to try to figure it out for too long.   I had a great eating day yesterday, for breakfast I had an Oikos 0% Greek yogurt with 2.5 tbsp of granola (same as every morning :-)),

and then headed out to the gym to kick my own butt!  Today I warmed up with 5 minutes of jump rope and then I did my leg circuit with walking lunges, dead lift, 1 leg-RDLs, reverse lunges, side lunges, Goblet squats, hang clean, step ups, band side steps and split squat jumps. I do each station for 1 minute then switch to the next, I usually just count the switching as my rest time.  After the circuit I definitely had to stretch it out before I thought about doing any cardio and I then headed up to the track and ran 2 miles in 14 min!!!!  HOLLA!  Never did that before, but I think thats a great time for me!  Walking to my first class of the day was sooooo hard and felt like forever even though it was right across the street from the gym.

After School and Community health class got out I ran into a friend on the men’s bball team and caught up for a little then went home and grabbed one of these bad boys for luch:

Here’s the recipe!  I got it from Ellie Krieger once again!  She’s my favorite…I wouldn’t mind doing something like she does one day!

  • 2 ounces Vietnamese or Thai rice noodles
  • 6 rice paper rounds
  • 1/4 cup, or 12 fresh Thai basil leaves (or regular basil leaves), rinsed and dried
  • 6 medium shrimp, cooked and halved
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrot
  • 1/2 cup, or 12 whole large fresh mint leaves, rinsed and dried
  • 3 red-leaf lettuce leaves, leaves, spines removed, leaving 6 halves

The recipe calls for a vinegar dipping sauce but I decided to use Kikoman low sodium soy sauce as a substitute and I added avocado to the rolls as well that way I could make sure I was getting my MUFA (monounsaturated fatty acid…great if you are trying to flatten out your belly)….it was a great lunch!

I then headed to go find the physics building which turned out to be a 30min walk uphill from my apartment…turns out my legs weren’t as tired as I was thinking because that walk felt very nice!  This class was my Environmental Health course with my favorite teacher of all time…Professor MOORE!  she is awesome!  I’m super stoked about this class because I know about the green opportunities there are, but I don’t understand exactly why other than it’ll be better for the planet, and this class we’ll go in depth on going green and why etc.!

This book apparently cost $100!!! all tiny 300 pages of it!  I’m so glad I get my books paid for by the university!

After this class I walked back to the gym (my second home) and did the eliptical for 45 min on resistance 6 (not too hard whatsoever) and the incline at 10 and wasted a little time till I gave up on trying to move and went back to the apartment to grab a snack which was….

A LARGE NAVEL ORANGE!!  Man this one was so juicy and yummy!  I then headed on to my Leadership Profession in Health class and we let out as soon as our teacher went over the syllabus. Once again, I went across the street to workout with my Sweetie (chad)

but he wasn’t there yet so I ran 2 more miles, but this time it took a full 20 min, and then I was too tired and told him sorry but I was smelly and tired and needed to get food and get clean before my night class.

I then came home and after a nice long HOT shower,

I got a baked falafel from Cupboard Natural Foods here in Denton. This was sooo amazing, I love falafel but this one was extra special because the Tahini dressing they put on it was absolutely the best tahini I’ve ever tasted!

I then finished getting ready and threw on some sweats and headed out the door with my teammate Kelsey to our Corporate Health class.  I have a feeling I’m really going to LOVE this class!  We came home as soon as the class was over and I grabbed 7 bite size prunes, a glass of water, and curled up and started reading Breaking Dawn…the last book in the Twilight Saga that I started reading this break!

Now, onto today’s events….

I woke up and once again had the oikos greek yogurt (blueberry this morning) a glass of Yogi Slim Life Green Tea (my favorite tea, seriously has the best flavor!) and as I walked out of the kitchen I got a STRONG craving for Special K Red Berries!  So I grabbed the smalled coffee mug in my cabinet and filled it with about a cup of the cereal and added some nonfat milk to it….this totally satisfied my craving!  I am super full but it was well worth it and my whole breakfast was still within my 500 calorie allowance!

I am now about to get ready to go interview for Smoothie King so I can make MONEY MONEY MONEY for Vegas, and so I can go visit my sister and brother-in-law in Colorado, and go visit all my friends in California in June!  So much traveling and NO money to do it with! haha…I’ll get it figured out! Sianara for now everyone, there will be another update tonight!

if you have ANY suggestions that would make my page better please do feel free to comment!

for now….

-Salah

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 01 2010
Heather (Heather's Dish)

wow, that’s quite the leg workout! what are goblet squats and RDLs?

love ya!

27 01 2010
salah44

goblet squats you take the dumbbell and hold it at your chest with your elbows angling downwards and you squat till your elbows touch your knees, and RDL’s you take the weight and keep your legs straight and back arched and bend at the waist and bring the weight down to about the ankles. you should feel the work in your hamstrings and butt

Leave a Reply

