Down to business

16 02 2010

Alright Bloggers, HAPPY FAT TUESDAY!!!!

I am not catholic but in my family we always gave up something for Lent as a way to get closer in our relationships with the Lord, and as a way to challenge ourselves!

This year, I will be giving up……

wait for it, wait for it……..

and…………………………..

more specifically tortilla chips since those are really the only chips I eat

these two items have been my biggest enemy the past couple of weekends and in order to look good for my portfolio pictures that I’m getting done over spring break (4 weeks) I need to Get Down To Business.  This will be a good challenge for me.  I will have to search for substitutes to both of these which will be an enjoyable challenge for me.  I know it will be hard b/c my friends go out to eat a lot and LOVE mexican food but I will HAVE to resist.  When it gets tough I’ll close my eyes and say a prayer for God to give me the strength to keep resisting, and as a result I will depend on Him to get me through Lint cheeseless and chipless 🙂

You guys will be a great support group as well! 🙂 🙂 (i thought that statement deserved 2 smiley faces)

Yesterday after my Environmental health class got out I did Circuit #1 and ran 2 miles then went to my last class which got out at 5 (we had a guest speaker so it lasted the entire time) then went to run my errands!

Here are a few eats from yesterday:

the beginning to my "Caprese" panini on whole wheat bagel (that's tomato pesto on the left)

had a slice of fresh organic mozarella (made by Central Market ppl) some spinach and some dried basil sprinkled on, and I added some of my homemade tomato sauce on the other slice as well

I got all 4 loads of my laundry done!!!!  THat’s something to mark off my checklist….DONE DONE AND DONE!

After doing laundry I headed to cupboard whole foods to pick up just a few things for the week.

I got this coffee drink to energize myself for a late night of studying and writing:

I highly suggest you get this coffee (Vanilla Latte) lovers! It was one of the best iced coffee drinks I've had......better than starbucks!

and I got this drink for after my game to get my electrolytes:

and ate the last 2 slices of my pizza for Dinah:

I then headed off to my intramural basketball game with REAL TALK (that’s my teams name)……we put it to ya straight! lol…We won our intramural game again last night! 2-0 baby!  And yours truly had 6 points!  We won 77-47 (could’ve been more but the game got mercy ruled).

I then went to the rec to walk on the stair climber till Chad finished his workout (I lasted about 10 min on level 12 but my legs/butt were dead from running 2 miles earlier and playing a basketball game).  Chad and I did wheelbarrow abs, dead bugs, and the roll out.

Then we headed to applebees where I ran into the new UNT volleyball coaches and got a chance to talk to them which I enjoyed.  I miss playing so much….I wish I had another year of eligibility left 😦

Here I got a grilled chicken salad with lots of fruit on it….I think it was called the paradise chicken salad (its a weight watchers salad that they serve there), and mike ordered chips and queso so I had a few of those (not too many though…I was proud).

Mike dropped Chad and I back off at the apartment and Chad read some of his book for one of his classes and I started working on my Environmental Health paper over water contamination, corporate responsibility, etc. (it was a response paper to the issues addressed in Erin Brokovich).  I could barely keep my eyes open later than 3am so I passed out as soon as I laid down in my bed and woke up at 7 to start working on my other work.

I’ll be back with more later!

Are you doing anything for Lent?  If so what are you doing?

Actions

Information

4 responses

16 02 2010
Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA

I LOOOOOVE cocnut water! Esp after a hard workout sesh!

16 02 2010
Heather

I’m thinking I’m going to give up meat. I don’t really want to, but I think that’s a good reason FOR me to give it up. i’ll keep you in check on the cheese thing, don’t worry!

16 02 2010
Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

aw al your eats look great! and i think that you eat soo healthily- it is ok to indulge every now and then 🙂 i know u can resist hte binge though!!

xoxox
shelley
http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

16 02 2010
Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce

congrats on the bball win, that’s awesome! i’m taking a public health class this semester, prob similar to your environmental health class. everything looks great!

Leave a Reply

