Orange you glad to be alive???

2 03 2010

Good evening everyone!

I know I’ve gone from updating almost twice a day to once every 3 days or so but honestly school is getting pretty busy, as well as training, and just relaxing.  Hopefully a job will come up some time after spring break…keep your fingers crossed!

So, i’ve noticed after going through my recent photos that there is a lot of orange in them.  Ocean Blue is my favorite color (or sky blue, whichever you want to call it) but I absolutely LOVE bright colors in general!  I mean honestly, when I see a bright orange or yellow I can’t help but cheer up and feel bright inside!  Call me a dork, but thats literally what happens.  I truly believe that colors subconsciously affect our moods!  So, by the title of this post I’m hoping y’all can all guess what kind of mood I’ve been in recently……………………A GREAT ONE!

my smoothie for breakfast yesterday morning....in an orange cup 🙂 this had blueberries, cherries, mango, nonfat vanilla yogurt, a little bit of honey, vanilla almond milk, 1 small banana, and 1 TBSP Chia Seeds (which I LOVED!) topped off with some organic pumpkin-flax granola

It took me a while to finish this due to the fact that I got to FINALLY skype with MARIO!!! For those of you (which is most of you) who don’t know anything about Mario, he is one of my brothers from Cal Poly.  He played soccer there, then moved to Spain to pursue his dream of professional soccer….seriously him and his brother Carlos are STUDS!  We haven’t skyped since Christmas so we ended up talking for about 1.5 hr!  Still wasn’t enough time to catch up on everything but I had a few errands to run before classes and he needed to get going again with his day!  I miss him so much though, and just being able to see his face and hear his voice truly made my week….I love my best friends!

After skyping I then headed on to accomplish errands, and head to classes.  During my Environmental Health class I munched on this for lunch….

1 medium navel orange, approx. 2 handfuls of raw baby carrots, 1 cran lemon zest honest bar FO LUNCH!

Just the perfect amount of food!  I wasn’t starving but I was pretty hungry!

After class I planned on working out but decided that I was sleepy and walked my 20min walk back home to take about an 1hr long nap but kept getting text messages so there wasn’t much napping going on :-/…don’t get me wrong though I heart talking to my friends!

I woke up feeling pretty hungry and knowing that I wasn’t going to get a chance to eat anything again till about 8pm b/c I was going to workout after class then do my spin class which goes till 7:30pm.  So I made a small cup of Fiber 1 and Special K Cinnamon pecan with almond milk as a pre-class and pre-workout meal!

Instead of doing my spin class after lifting like I had intended, I ended up talking to my new friend about church, dating, sports, etc. for about 2 hours!  It was crazy, but so much fun and so worth missing my class for.  While we were talking another buddy of mine joined in and we all met a cool guy from Kenya and talked to him for a while as well.  I feel so blessed to be able to meet such great people!  The Lord truly provides!

I then headed home to microwave up a Yellow Curry Tofu dinner that I had gotten at Central Market….this was amazing.  The perfect amount of Thai that I was craving!  (Although I enjoy green curry with bamboo shoots much more).  This meal had over 10 different veggies, and was off the chain good!!

yummy.....and it had some orange in there 🙂

I then waited for Chad to come over so we could walk to the gym together for our intramural games.  Prior to my game Real Talk was 5-0, we left the gym being 5-1 😦  Losses happen, can’t do anything but learn from them!  Here I am repping my team…with the thizz face! (Thizz face is a west coast thing)

Here is a picture of Mac Dre (the rapper) signature THizz Face

Here’s Mine…………….

gettin' my thizz on!

I braided my hair really well too :-)....Playing with the special effects on my photo booth app on my macbook

After the game I went and worked the clock for Chad’s game (which they won….by A LOT!) and then headed home for some much needed sleep!

This morning I woke to this craving for pumpkin yogurt….its probably because my sister made some the day before (and I saw it on her blog….the pictures made me drool)

So I had about 3/4 cup horizon fat free vanilla yogurt + 1/4 c pumpkin + drizzle organic honey + 1 TBSP Chia Seeds + raisins and craisins + 1 small banana + 1 tbsp heated Crunchy Barney Butter  + Organic Pumpkin-flax granola

This was BOMB.COM!!!!!  It took me a while to eat it b/c it was a lot for me but I ate it all and loved every bit of it!

I mixed it all up in the container I kept the pumpkin in

I then ran some errands to take care of 5th yr scholarship stuff as well and printing out notes and study guides for classes!

Afterwards I headed to the rec where I ran 2 miles, lifted for about 45min of just shoulders, traps, biceps, triceps….I bet you can tell it was an upper body day 🙂  After I did an ab circuit where I did wheel Pikes (with the wheel, strap it to feel and pull up with abs), then push-up wheel abs, ab ball obliques, and hanging leg raises (I did 10 of ea. 2 times).

I headed towards the basketball courts to snack on my apple so my tummy wasn’t growling in class and ended up having a great conversation with with 2 of my gym rat friends!

Medium Braeburn Apple

After my class, I headed back to gym to finish my workout which consisted of 20 min of incline sprints.  I did 10 min at incline of 7.5 at a speed of 10mph, then the last 10 min I had an incline of 8 speed starting at 10 and ending at 11mph.  I did 15 seconds on and 30 seconds off for 20 min.  Man my legs are still burning!  I did a few back exercises with Mike then walked home where I fixed probably my new favorite thing EVER!

1 Sweet Potato + Amy’s Organic Spicy Chili + 1 tsp Smart Balance Light……this was soooo good!

After this I snacked on about 4 of these little babies….

Pickled Okra always makes me think of my Mimi 🙂 I miss you and love you Mimi!!

I went upstairs to get showered, and I couldn’t help but take pictures of everything that was orange, and/or reminded me of summer and eat this special navel on my way up as well 🙂

orange dish soap

Orange hand soap alongside the orange bottle for Hawaiian breeze air freshner

Orange beach poster in my room

another Orange-ish beachy poster in my room

Orange hibiscus flowers hanging from a picture frame in my room

Chad is looking for a some new specs and I was the chosen one to tell him the honest truth about whether or not it looked good. So I went with his to EyeMasters to tell him yes or no.  He didn’t get a pair but we still had fun together…which in  my opinion is all that matters!

We headed to target b/c I told him I “needed to get something” from there, but truly i was going to he could pick out his blender that I was going to buy for him for Valentines/6months!

Holding his brand new blender on our way out of the store!!

Also, I found this bad boy while we were there…..

I know I know, my chances of pancreatic cancer just went up but I couldn't help but try this sucker out....I have such a weak spot for Root Beer so I had to try out this diet stuff!

My opinion????  It wasn’t bad at all for being a diet version of Root Beer, I probably wouldn’t buy a whole case of it but it def was tasty!

For a quick grab before heading to go coach my 16’s I grabbed my Trail Mix Honest bar and a baggie of some carrots….what do you know!  MORE ORANGE!

I then headed to practice where I had the girls working on serving, mental strength, ball control, communication, and just learning to trust their instincts….It was a great practice!

After I got home I was hungry so I whipped up some chocolate, AB yogurt!

1/4 c vanilla non fat yogurt, 1 tbsp Crunchy Barney Butter, 1 packet Chocolate amazing grass.....this tasted just like chocolate mousse!

I have another test tomorrow so its time to go study  but I want to leave y’all with this question….

Do you feel like colors influence your mood?  How?  What is your favorite color and why?

Have a very Orange Night!

Actions

Information

5 responses

2 03 2010
Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

aw i love bright colors too! that yogurt looks deliciousss and so does the curry! yum 🙂 and don’t worry about being busy- we all are so everyone understandss.
have a good wednesday hun

xoxo
shelley

http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

3 03 2010
Heather (Heather's Dish)

i LOOOOOOOVE color! of course, bright color make me haaaaaaaaappy and darker colors calm me down 🙂

3 03 2010
Jocelyn @ Peace.Love.Nutrition

Yes! i would say colors definitely effect my mood! I love Purples, Pinks, and Turquoise! Makes me happy : )

xo

Jocelyn

5 03 2010
Simply Life

your smoothie looks great!

5 03 2010
jenny

I love bright colors so much that I named my blog accordingly 🙂 I’m glad I found your blog! I, too, played vball in college. I miss it soooooo much!

Leave a Reply

