Skin Doctor

1 06 2010

How was everyones Memorial Weekend?

Mine was absolutely amazing…I’m so blessed to have had the opportunity to go home and spend some time with my parents, and go to lunch with one of my long time friends Shelbi.  While I was home I watched tons of movies….Avatar, Ironman 2, Love Happens, and Invictus, as well as going shopping with mom and dad, working out (circuits, yogadownload power yoga, 4 full snakes at my old HS bleachers,pilates abs video, and some jump training and sprints at a park).

One thing I really noticed this weekend was how hard it was to train the way I want to b/c I didn’t have a gym.  I feel like I’ve been so spoiled b/c I have always had a gym and this weekend was my first time to not have one….it was crazy but it was also tons of fun trying to find different things I could use to replace my jump boxes (instead I used a bench at the park, etc.).

Now, its time to get back to the grind of things, training, teaching spin, coaching, and playing league games while taking care of other things before summer school starts up!

here are some eats from this weekend and the week before.

tempeh with dired apricot, chipotle dressing and some chipotle veggies with guacamole

Quinoa porridge with banana, barney butter, cinnamon, and vanilla

Yogi Blueberry tea as always

some fresh gerber daisies I bought during finals week….my fav flower 🙂

“baked apple” with barney butter, honey, cinnamon, vanilla extract and some organic granola

finally got some decor for the living room

never home long enough to really put that much effort into really making the living room spectacular haha

tempeh and chipotle veggies turned into a salad with guac and apricot chipotle dressing + EVOO + Balsamic

Spirulina Pancake PB&J

MMMmmmm Juice….Beet, carrot, kale, apple juice….love the colors

Veggie Juice + mixed green with aduki beans and cannelinni beans

soo good…I love mushrooms or anything that tastes like mushrooms hah

new fav “Meat”ball

combined with whole wheat pasta…so delish

Vegan Banana and AB smoothie

I like these bars….just a little greasy though

Now for stuff from this weekend……

salad with grilled chicken, olives, romaine lettuce, tomato, sweet vidalia onion dressing, peppers, diced avocado, carrot, and green onions

Dinner at Jazz Cajun Restaurant….I got the shrimp creole minus the rice with veggie medley on the side…so good.

Breakfast for me Friday, Saturday, and Sunday…..

Cranberry Juice

Spinach

Blueberries

Frozen banana

Nectarine or strawberries

sweet and juicy watermelon….that I had TONS of this past weekend

Dad laying with Arnie in the workout room

my puppy 🙂

Mom in the middle of working out

dad catching me doing my yogadownload

mom catching me during my yogadownload

shrimp and chicken kabobs with roasted onions, and roasted zuchinni and yellow squash spears

made them my special black bean burgers

The Mix:

1.5 cups black beans (rinsed)

1/4 c whole wheat flour

2 squirts BBQ Sauce

2 glugs of Worschestsire sauce (or however you spell it lol)

1 garlic clove

1/2 sauteed onion

sprinkle of cayenne and cumin

salt and pepper

combine all in food processor, then mold into balls and cook in pan till brown on both sides

My burger on whole wheat bun with lettuce, mustard, ketchup, pickles, avocado with grilled onions, carrot fries, and roasted brussell sprouts

I cut my finger 😦

bc it was memorial weekend I thought this bandaid would be perfect

dad and I getting excited to eat some of that angel food cake!!

with frozen whipped cream and chopped strawberries (a spoonful of PB to eat with the frozen whipped cream…a fav combo of mine)

Went to taco diner last night with Katie (after a long day of playing sand as soon as I got back in Denton) and I ordered a mojito…so pretty…but in my opinion they put way too much mint in the drink so I only drank maybe 1/4 of it

and for breakfast this morning all I had were sandwich thins, AB and some honey for a Breakfast sandwich….

best honey ever….got it from Teavanna

sprinkle of cinnamon

So….I’ve bee thinking…since I am training everyday out in the sun I really need to make sure that I’m take good care of my skin.  I am a strong believer that what I eat will cure allergies, skin problems, even cancer….

I don’t feel like my skin is as bright anymore as it was when I was juicing all the time so the Skin Doctor (aka me) has prescribed a carrot, beet, kale, and apple juice for me for breakfast every morning this week, along with a spinach, kiwi, orange, pineapple, and strawberry smoothie at some other point in the day.

The reason?  Well beets and carrots are great for brightening skin…and the kiwi orange etc. has Vitamin C which is a very powerful antioxidant extremely important for me to eat while I am out in the sun all day everyday (don’t worry…I am slathering on TONS of sunscreen every 30 min-hr as well as using Philosophy’s Vitamin C powder in my daily lotion).

I get so paranoid sometimes that I am going to look 80 when I’m 40 yrs old b/c I’m out the sun all the time, along with more serious issues such as skin cancer.  This is why I am trying to cover all angels…tons of sunscreen, eating powerful foods, and being in the shade anytime I get a break.

Do you have any suggestions that I may be missing?  Please share!

Do you ever get worried about things like this?  How do you deal with it?

Have a great week!  I will be sharing with y’all a surprise in the near future!!!!!

Actions

Information

7 responses

1 06 2010
Heather

omg, i LOVE the pictures of mommy & daddy! i’m so glad you put them up 🙂 it sounds like you have everything covered, just make sure you’re drinking plenty of water (i know you are but still), exfoliating your face, and getting plenty of rest!

1 06 2010
Rachel

Try to get a sunscreen without Oxybenzelone (sp) because when it interacts with the sun, it CAUSES skin cancer. Little known fact… just an FYI. I found an Alba brand without it in case you are interested, most “regular” brands of sunscreen have this ingredient.

1 06 2010
Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

so valid to be worried about working out in the sun- i’ve actually read a TONf magazine articles (aka skimmed) about this lately- you should check out like fitness magazine & shape and stuff bc they talk about it alot!
your mom & dad are sooo cute- they look so fit!!
great eats too 🙂
glad to hear you are doing well hun

xoxox
shelley

http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

1 06 2010
Lindsey @ Foodie on the Rocks

oh, i’m so going to try those black bean burgers! i had an amazing black bean patty once and have wanted to try to make my own ever since!n thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

2 06 2010
Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine

Sounds like a fun weekend! I love the looks of your mojito and angel food cake especially 🙂 I think as long as you’re careful about sunscreen and eating an antioxidant-rich diet, your skin will be fine. I know that sun protection is EXTREMELY important, but as humans we’re meant to spend time outdoors!! I wouldn’t stress it, just keep taking good care of yourself 🙂

4 06 2010
Nicci@NiftyEats

I haven’t had Angel food cake in forever looks great. Yeah, I would check out fitness mags for advice on sunscreens for the summer and being outdoors.

11 06 2010
drbillmackin

I really interested in your post. Actually I posted a similar related article in my blog regarding this issue. What is your opinion about it?
http://www.healthgrounds.net

Bill

Leave a Reply

