Only One Goal In Mind

4 10 2010

Good Morning FOlks!

This is going to be a real quick post because one of my best friends from Cal Poly, Curtis, will be doing a guest post this week and sharing with all yall his story!!

First, Here is something I’ve been loving the past week or so….

OIAJ + Chocolate Better’n Peanut Butter + Pumpkin+ Cinnamon + Oat Bran + Trader Joes Organic Vanilla Hemp Protein powder πŸ™‚ with a Baked Banana on top…thanks to WhatRunsLori!

Ya’ll I have no idea if you have tried the baked banana, or the Better’n Peanut Butter BUT They are AMAZING!!!! Β Don’t get me wrong I still enjoy the richness of regular Peanut Butter but when I add it to my oats sometimes it gets too heavy for me, but this Better’n PB gives me that rich flavor still without feeling like I may have added 20lbs to my weight!

This week I’m going into with many little goals such as not procrastinating school work, sticking to my diet plan, etc. the usual beginning of the week goals, but yesterday in Church I really was touched by what our Pastor Beau was talking about….

He spoke about Spiritual Formation: The grace-driven developmental process in which the soul grows in conformity to the image of Jesus Christ.

I believe in the Lord and I have Faith which is good, but I am almost scared to truly let Him in at times and really let Him lead me….

So, my goal this week is to really take the week to sit back and ALLOW God to take over my heart completely. Β I want to be on Fire for HIM and share with everyone I know how truly amazing He is!

This past week has been very difficult, and hearing this yesterday really helped cheer me up.

I hope you all have a blessed week.

Here are a few questions our pastor left us with yesterday:

1. On your journey of Spiritual formation, which areas of your life are you more reluctant to surrender to God? Why?

2. In what areas in your heart and life, reveal to you that He wants to make you more like Jesus? In what ways?

πŸ™‚

Actions

Information

13 responses

4 10 2010
Heather

i just love you so much…i struggle with the same thing! i think it’s the basic human desire to be in control at all times. but it’s so freeing in the fleeting moments when i actually let God take control. i am not my own…i need to stop living like i am! πŸ™‚

4 10 2010
Jean@RoastedRootsandPumpkinSpice

I totally know what you mean about the Better’n PB. I love the stuff and can’t get enough. It’s my sorta-guiltfree obsession. πŸ™‚

5 10 2010
Sara @ Nourish and Flourish

Wow, the baked banana breakfast combo sounds amazing! How long do you bake the banana?

I struggle almost every day to trust God with food, body image and exercise issues. In a world where so much emphasis is based on self-control, it’s easy to believe that we’re alone in the fight. But we aren’t! Like Heather said, it’s SO liberating when I DO trust God! I walk with a bounce in my step knowing that He has has my back. πŸ™‚

5 10 2010
Salah

I baked the banana at 400 for about 15 min, I sprinkled a teensy bit of brown sugar on it one time before placing it in the oven….absolutely amazing!

5 10 2010
Faith

I’ve got to look for Better’n Peanut Butter, it sounds incredible! Roasting the banana is a great idea too!

5 10 2010
Angela (the diet book junkie)

thanks for the great reminder! i really do believe God is willing to do AMAZING things in people’s lives who just give it all to him and trust him with everything. it’s something i must work on every day πŸ™‚

6 10 2010
Lori

I am so glad you liked the baked bananas! Aren’t they good?! And the OIAJ are my FAVORITE things ever. YUM!
πŸ™‚

6 10 2010
Alyssa

I love OIAJ! Glad you enjoyed it!

11 10 2010
J

I never go to church, but I do appreciate the messages, and I actually like that you include your religion in your blog, it sets it apart. Thanks for some christian inspiration!

13 10 2010
Lauren @ Fun, Fit and Fabulous!

Where can I find this amazing Better’n PB? I love peanut butter/almond butter and eat it in my oatmeal every morning, however I can totally relate to that heavy feeling you talked about! I would love a new alternative, especially a delicious one with less calories!

P.S. I love your blog! It will definitely become one of my regular reads.

15 10 2010
Salah

I get mine either at Whole Foods or Cupboard (which is the local health food store in Denton) but I’m sure if you have a WF you’ll be able to find it there!!

14 10 2010
Samantha Angela @ Bikini Birthday

I’m really inspired by your spirituality. As a teenager I was very in touch with my religion and the deeper my spirituality became the more questions I asked and the more questions I asked the more doubts I had to the point where I actually lost belief in pretty much everything. It saddens me a bit, to be honest.
What kind of church do you attend?
Were you successful in allowing God to take over your heart this week?

15 10 2010
Salah

I attend a non-denominational church called The Village here in Denton. The pastor, Matt Chandler, and all his sermons are online at The Village Church for free. I am still in the process of letting God completely take over my heart, but it is definitely worth it because I can feel my life changing everyday the closer I get to him the better my life gets and the more meaning I have here on earth πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

