This Could Be The End

3 11 2010

Happy Hump Day Everyone!!

**I have a new computer now** Precious white macbook**

I also have a gorgeous agua colored cover to protect my computer from any outside harm along with a padded laptop baggie 🙂 NO MORE TEA ALLOWED IN THE SAME VICINITY AS MY COMPUTERS!!!! haha

Now, on to the juicy part of this post.  I usually leave my posts up for days at a time but today when i was walking home from classes and working out I was listening to the new Kings of Leon cd, Come Around Sundown

For starters, I LOVE KINGS OF LEON, secondly this new album is amazing.  Track 1 on the cd is a song called “The End”.  I tried searching online for the actual Kings of Leon version to put on here but all I could find was a cover (a dadgum good cover though, this dude is awesome!)

I have listened to this song several times but for some reason today something just seemed to connect for me.  I don’t know why Kings of Leon wrote this song, or what its purpose is supposed to serve, but for me as I watched my feet take each step I thought to myself, “what if this is the last step I ever take?”  Nothing is ever guaranteed, ever.  I don’t if I will wake up in the morning, and we can sit back and say, “well, Salah eats clean and works out everyday, gets enough rest and generally a very happy, stress-free person” but that is only what the books say.  I can be perfectly healthy physically and mentally, but God still has the power to sweep me off this planet permanently. My spirit may still lurke around but physically I wouldn’t exist anymore.  The chorus goes “This could be the end” x4….That began to really sink in for me.

WHAT IF THIS IS THE END?

Am I freaking out?  HEck no I’m not!  I know where I’m going, and its to live eternally with my Heavenly Father. But, if this is the end, am I living my life to the fullest?  Am I living it as close to the way Jesus would live as I can? These questions ran through my mind, and sometimes I get so consumed in being so hard working and into training etc. that I forget to take a step back and make sure that I’m spreading His word to others.

So, if this is THE END, I want you all to know I love you how much you mean to me.  Your support just by reading this blog, regardless if you comment or not, means the world to me.  I hope that I have been able to reach out and connect with at least one of your if not more.

Now, This post is not meant to be somber or anything along those lines, its actually supposed to be a very happy post because I’m realizing that I’ve been getting caught up in placing some not-so-important things before my very important things.

I also have come up with a new favorite thing to eat….

Southwestern Stuffed Acorn Squash

1 acorn squash halved and baked at 400 for about 45 min

salt, pepper, cumin, chipotle, chili powder, and cayenne pepper

1 can black beans

1 can pinto beans (i got pinto + jalepenos)

1 can red beans

1 can corn + peppers

Fat free mexican cheese

Olive Oil Spray

Start off by cutting the acorn squash in half and scooping out the seeds.  Once thats done spray the squash halves with olive oil and sprinkle with S&P, Cumin, Chili Powder, Cayenne Powder, and Chipotle Powder.  Bake for 30-45 min. On the Stove combine beans and corn.  Once the squash is done pull out of the oven (leave the oven on) and stuff the squash with the beans and bake for another 10 min.  Then pull back out and top off squash with however much cheese as you would like….I used about 1/8 c, then place back in the oven for 10 min and ENJOY!!!

YUUUUMMMMM….I hope you all have a great rest of the week!

Actions

Information

15 responses

3 11 2010
lisaou11

enjoy your macbook! I love mine!

I’m gonna try and find the real version–sounds like a great song!

3 11 2010
Salah

its really good….Kings of Leon has not failed me yet 🙂

4 11 2010
Heather

whoa thoughtful blogger 🙂 so true though, you probably want to know where you’re going if this IS the end! i love you scissor 🙂

4 11 2010
Jocelyn @ Peace.Love.Nutrition

I’m still a PC girl– I want to switch over soon!! Let me know if you like it

4 11 2010
Lori

Thanks for the comment on my blog- and thank you for leading me to this post! What IF this could be the end? Today? What would I regret? A LOT. I’m done regretting… or at least going to make an effort to LIVE. I love Kings of Leon too and their songs touch me in a place where I connect deeply- as with you with their songs. So this post was extra special to me. 🙂

And I’m 1000000% making that acorn stuffed squash- literally looks so good. Question: Did you roast the squash cut face down or up?

5 11 2010
Salah

I roasted it face up 🙂 I like the crunchiness it gives the squash face up

4 11 2010
Kristen (swanky dietitian)

Love your new computer!

I love songs that really make you think. I know I sometimes take things for granted and don’t always live my days to the fullest. This post was a great reminder of that! Thanks!

5 11 2010
buy 1500 dodge ram decals

I find myself coming to your blog more and more often to the point where my visits are almost daily now!

5 11 2010
Lauren @ Fun, Fit, and Fabulous!

I’m glad you have a shiny new computer!! What a great post and that Acorn squash looks delicious!

5 11 2010
cbrady3

MM I want a new macbook!
And that post kind of is a reality check…if this is the end, am I living the life I want? Makes me question my career, etc.

6 11 2010
Ayla

Kings of Leons new album is out??! Sweet. I need to check it out asap. And I’m going to go listen to that song as soon as I get home from work.

YOU ARE AMAZING. 🙂

7 11 2010
GirlonRaw

You are gonna love your mac. I have never looked back with mine. Enjoy!

8 11 2010
Joslyn @ missfitbliss

I love that stuffed squash recipe! I need to quit reading healthy living blogs when I’m hungry! Terrible combination:)

8 11 2010
katie

oh man that stuffed squash looks AWEEEESOME! I have yet to stuff my squash!

9 11 2010
Candice @ ChiaSeedMe

Great thoughts! I know I don’t live with an eternal perspective nearly enough. I focus way more on accomplishing things that are not lasting than I do on things that are eternal. Thanks for the reminder:)

Also, congrats on your new macbook! I have the exact same one, and I love it!

Leave a Reply

