Christmas 2010 and New Years Resolution

28 12 2010

Words cannot describe how wonderful this Christmas was.

I was able to spend some quality time with my grandmother.

I got to spend tons of time with my parents.

This handsome guy didn’t get sick of hanging out with me.

My cousins are still just as funny as ever, and so much fun to be around.

I got to see my grandfather in Leakey.

Arnie and Hobie got along ;-), saw some beautiful scenery, went hiking, climbed in caves and on top of trees.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I get to see my best friend/big sister and my awesome brother-in-law in a couple of days. It will be so great to bring in the 2011-year with them and my parents, and Arnie J.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then, its time to downsize my STUFF and get it re-packed and ready for my move to Austin on January 6, and get settled in before I start my first day of the internship on January 10.

So, while I’m stuck in the car for the last 6 hours of the drive back from California, I thought what better to do than work on my New Years Resolutions?

I like to separate my resolutions into temporary challenges, and long-term/life-time goals.

Temporary challenges:

*I WILL do 26 Sun Salutations a day for a week straight starting Sunday, January 2-8, 2011.

*Body For Life 12-week challenge

*Get NACSM certified for personal training

*Make a goal-board (see these everywhere in the blog world, and such a great idea!) and get to my goal!

*Start applying to grad school programs for Nutrition.

Long-term/life-time goals:

*Pay it forward by doing something for someone once a day, at least.  Even if it ranges from a smile or a hug, or a text to paying for another’s groceries, giving them a ride to work, or spending an hour+ on the phone listening.

*Spend no less than 10 minutes a day devoted to God, and God alone.

*Become a church member, now that I’m finally in a place where I know I’ll be for several years.

What are some of your New Years Resolutions?

Do you separate yours into categories?

What are your motivating factors for your resolutions?

**I hope everyone had an amazing Christmas, and that you all have a wonderful and SAFE New Year!**

Actions

Information

19 responses

28 12 2010
whatkateiscooking

Your Christmas looks so fun! Spending time with the family is the best part 🙂

28 12 2010
Katie

What great pics of you and your family! So important to spend time with the grandparents too, my gram just passed in october and I miss her so much, I wish I didnt live out of state, so I could of spent more time with her. Love the pics and love your goals!!

So exciting your moving to Austin! I wish you the best!!

And yes truvia in the purse is a MUST for me !!!

28 12 2010
lindsay

You have a gorgeous family! I spent time with my grandma too. Its so sweet to be with them. I love it. I love the no less than 10 minutes a day with God. Making time for HIm is a must, and I want to be able to give him that time as well. Cheers!
LC

28 12 2010
lindsay

p.s.
You must email me when you are in austin! I would LOVE to meet you!

28 12 2010
Salah

Yes! I definitely will e-mail you! It’d be so great to meet you as well!!!

28 12 2010
allieatfood

I’m in the works of creating my own resolutions and I’ll post them when I make them! I love yours, some big and some small. You go girl 🙂 Love your blog – Can’t wait to keep reading!

29 12 2010
Kate

your photos are lovely. the first one of the tree is super cool. i was just thinking i should solidify my goals for the upcoming and do a post on them. thanks for the idea!

29 12 2010
This Italian Family

So I can’t remember how I ran across your blog, but I’m so glad I did. Loved reading this post! It looks like you had such a merry Christmas and I love your goals for 2011! Good luck with each of those! So good to see you dedicating a piece of each day to God, that’s awesome. 🙂

29 12 2010
Candice @ ChiaSeedMe

Your Christmas looks so lovely:) Glad you had such a special one!

I love your goals – they all sound like something I would put on my resolutions list. I actually haven’t taken the time to sit down and think through mine yet, but you’ve inspired me to do it soon!

Also, I’m so interested to hear more about your decision to do a Nutrition program for grad school. What was your undergrad in? I’ve contemplated doing something like that many times, but I have to admit I’m a little bit intimidated! Have you written a post about that before?

29 12 2010
Salah

My undergrad degree will be in Health Promotion (I graduate this May)…but I will be writing a post on choosing grad schools/degrees and stuff very soon! Its been in the works for a while, I just need to put some finishing touches on it and do a little more research! I hope it will help 🙂

29 12 2010
Michelle (Housewife in the Raw)

You’ll be (kinda) down the road from me – I’m in San Antonio.

Love your resolutions. I too need to get back on track with God time. I’m starting a new Bible study (about David) through our church next week and I’m really excited about it. I’m a much calmer, deliberate person when I make time with God a priority.

29 12 2010
Heather

aw, these are great resolutions scissor! and p.s. you’re my best friend (well, other than Nate…obvi ;)) i have never typically organized my resolutions per se, but i’m trying to do that this year…i figure it would probably help reach the end goals a lot more accurately 🙂

30 12 2010
Rachel (tea and chocolate)

Your Christmas pics look lovely. Family time is the best!

Great resolutions! Especially the pay it forward one. That one should be on everyone’s resolution list.

30 12 2010
Amy K.

Love your pictures! The two dogs laying together is so sweet!! Looks like a fabulous Christmas!

31 12 2010
Joslyn @ missfitbliss

I love these pics! Especially the one of you and your boyfriend:))

31 12 2010
MegSmith

I love your pictures, spending time with family is just the best! That sounds like a fantastic holiday, love the dogs too! Happy New Year 🙂

1 01 2011
Here We Go 2011!! « My Healthiest Life

[…] my last post I wrote out my […]

4 01 2011
Heather (Perspective Is Everything)

just getting caught up on your blog! where is your internship? sounds like it’s gonna be a great experience.
love the picture of that tree.
glad you had a great Christmas 🙂

4 01 2011
Salah

Its in Austin and I’ll be an events intern with a non-profit organization called The Active Life Movement

Leave a Reply

