Guest Post, Heather’s Dish :-) aka Big Scissor

18 01 2011

Hey Everyone! I know it has been a while since I have posted, but believe me I have a lot of really cool things in store!  Finally, the lentil and barley salad recipe will be posted soon, along with information about my internship, and last but not least, a post on how I leaned out!  Until then, enjoy a fun post from my big sister!

Hi there!  My name is Heather, and I blog over at Heather’s Dish about food, life, photography, and really anything that’s on my mind.  I’m also super blessed to be Salah’s big sister.  I would definitely say that she is the best friend I’ve ever had (well, her and my husband!)  It wasn’t always that way though.  Rewind with me just a bit…

I’m 9 years old.  Salah is 4.5 years old.  I’m starting to “blossom” into the young woman I’m to become.  My sister, my dear sweet sister, and I were making a home video to send to my grandparents.  We were showing off all of our mad skills, singing and dancing, reading stories, and playing the piano.  Adorable, unassuming me was in the process of singing my Lion King medley when in comes my sister dancing in front of the camera, stealing the show.  It only got better as she announced to the camera that she was sorry to say I was wearing a bra.  Hilarious now, but if you could see the look I gave her then…YIKES.  Let’s just say thank goodness looks don’t kill!


Fast forward to my high school years.  I’m sad to say I didn’t realize how amazing my sister was even then, but the entire time she was there for me, loving me, and wanting to be like me.  Why?  Who knows.  I wouldn’t want to be like me, but she saw something in me and loved me regardless of my selfishness.  I think to get back at her calling me out in my early bra-wearing days, I used to punch her in the boob.  Again, I have no idea why.  I’m just kind of weird like that.  But one day I came home to an empty house after volleyball practice and began to worry.  Where was my family?  Come to find out I’d burst a major blood vessel in one of Salah’s boobs and she was in the emergency room.  She also had to take 2 weeks off from athletics AND explain to her male coaches why.  OOPS.  Sorry sister…I love you!

When I decided to skip over the plans I’d laid out for myself to go away for college and spent 4 years at Texas Tech in our hometown of Lubbock, Texas, my eyes were finally opened to how much I really loved my sister.  Going to watch her play volleyball brought me so much pride.  I cheered louder and crazier than anyone else, and when her team went to State I was beaming.  I loved investing in her.  We finally began to have a relationship and share our lives with one another, and even though we’re still very different, I could not ask for a more loving, fun, and amazing friend OR sister.


So what’s the moral of the story here?  Well, don’t make fun of other people’s boobies, and don’t punch other people in the boobies…that’s bad.  But beyond that, never underestimate the friendship that you can have with your family…chances are they’ll be the best friends you ever had!

I hope ya’ll enjoyed this!!  I’ll be back in a couple days with more stuff!  Until then, try to take a moment to sit back and show someone you love how much you truly care for them!!

Actions

Information

18 responses

18 01 2011
Heather

ILOVEYOU!!!!!!!!!!!!

18 01 2011
lindsay

you two are adorable. Such love! And I love both bogs!

18 01 2011
dawn

Makes me wish I had a sister!

18 01 2011
Michelle (Housewife in the Raw)

i.love.this.post. And I want to go call my sister now and think her for not punching me in the boob…..

18 01 2011
Featured! | Heather's Dish

[…] I love my sister.  I’ve shared this before.  But now you can read the stories (and some mighty embarrassing ones at that!) over on my guest post on her blog! […]

18 01 2011
Mara @ What's For Dinner?

You two are so stinking cute… and i’m glad I stuck with smacking my sister’s butt 🙂

18 01 2011
Evan Thomas

I had no idea there even were blood vessels in boobs. Good to know.

20 01 2011
Joslyn @ missfitbliss

ha!!! That’s funny.

18 01 2011
Julie

I cracked up the whole time I was reading this because I can’t look at the word boobies straight in the face 🙂

I concur! Family ROCKS!
Just this morning I was trying to explain to the 8 y/o boy that even though he hates the 6 y/o girl now…one day…yes…one day they WILL be best buds.

(actually…they are best buds now…they just don’t realize it 😉

19 01 2011
Erica

What an adorable post! The relationship between sisters is definitely a unique one!! Glad y’all are so close now 🙂

19 01 2011
OliePants

This is such a cute and loving post!

19 01 2011
Kristina @ Life as Kristina

Great post-i’m on the phone with my sisters now-didn’t have time to make it through the whole thing before they called me!!!!

19 01 2011
eatspinlive

What a great post 🙂 I love both of your blogs so much! Hope yall have a good week girls!

20 01 2011
Ayla

Hahaha.. oh my gosh. I didn’t know it was possible to break a blood vessel in someones boob by punching it! I’ll make sure I don’t do that to my sister. 😉

I loved this post and my sister is hands down one of my best friends too. Nothing compares to having a sister. 🙂

20 01 2011
Joslyn @ missfitbliss

This is such a sweet post about sisters! You guys make me miss my twin sister and older sister!! You guys are adorable together.

21 01 2011
Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)

You two are adorable!
What a fun post!

And I honestly didnt know you two were sisters! Omg lightbulb moment for me 🙂

21 01 2011
candicemccoy

I feel bad that I didn’t know Heather was your sister. I’ve seen her blog name around, but haven’t gotten the chance to read it yet! I’ll have to head over there asap:)

You two are super cute though! Love this post!

Have a great weekend, Salah:)

24 01 2011
IHeartVegetables

Awww such cute pics!!! I enjoyed this post 🙂

Leave a Reply

