Lenbarshri Salad

30 01 2011

Hey everyone!

I know its been a while since I’ve posted last (again haha) but I have recently started recruiting volleyball players for this volleyball training (that I’m helping coach) headed up by two of the best players in the game of Beach volleyball (Dale, and Phill Dahlhausser…Phil is olympic gold medalist aka best player in the WORLD). I have also been super busy at work with trying to recruit volunteers for the Austin Marathon (Feb. 20), planning the 3 events during our “Demand Healthy Week” May 2-7, getting all the entertainment set up for our BIG May 14 ACTIVE Life Festival, as well as attending meetings with our PR people etc.

BUT….

I promised you a recipe last month and well, you are getting it!

This one is called Lenbarshri…aka Lentil Barley and Shrimp Salad (this is me trying to be creative lol)

LENBARSHRI SALAD

lentils

barley

celery

carrots

onion

shrimp

lettuce

EVOO

Dijon Mustard

Salt and Pepper

Minced fresh garlic

balsamic vinegar

romaine lettuce (and any other lettuce you want)

Shrimp

marinate for 30min-1hr in balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper, and minced garlic

Simple Salad

Chop up 1-2 heads of romaine, chop up scallions, and at the end add a dressing (I used 1 tsp EVOO, balsamic, minced garlic, S&P)

Barley and lentil salad

cook up the barley and lentils separately (you can use however much you want, depending on how many people you are serving), saute’ the celery, carrots, and green peppers till al dente and after, combine veggies, barley and lentils then add whatever dressing you want (I used the rest of my EVOO, Dijon, Balsamic, S&P, Minced Garlic Mixture)

Shrimp Cont.

take shrimp out of baggie with marinade, bake in oven (only like 5 min or so) then throw in with the lentils and barley

The beauty of this whole recipe?

You can add the lentil-barley salad on top of the simple salad with the shrimpies, or you can eat it all separately. Β It’s a mix n’ match kind of thing!

Ps. you can sub the shrimp for any other kind of protein and it will still taste wonderful!

I combined mine, with grapes on the side πŸ™‚

Bomb.com πŸ™‚

I hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend! Β Today is my day off from all work (for school and for my job) and the weather is gorgeous, so its time I put this computer away and go for a long run and then lay out in the back yard and read…

πŸ™‚

Actions

Information

12 responses

30 01 2011
movesnmunchies

ahh tthat salad sounds and LOOKS AWESOME!

30 01 2011
Diana

The salad looks great! πŸ™‚ Very versatile. Enjoy the nice weather for me–it’s still supah cold in NYC!

30 01 2011
lindsay

oh I love it! Such great flavor! And grapes are the perfect sweet addition!

30 01 2011
Heather

Yum…those salad leftovers were amazing too!

30 01 2011
dawn

Love it! I just made a lentil salad with some veggies I had on hand that I’ll be posting tomorrow. It came out so well too!

30 01 2011
Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)

your salads look delish!

31 01 2011
Michelle (Housewife in the Raw)

Looks great. The weather was awesome yesterday – we hit the San Marcos outlet malls. πŸ™‚

31 01 2011
Erica

Sounds like you have some exciting things going on over there!!! The dish looks fabulous! Grains, veggies, protein- perfect! And I love grapes so much- they really complete a meal πŸ™‚ Hope you have a great week too

31 01 2011
oatsandspice

AHhhh that salad looks amazinggg. Im hungry now πŸ™‚

Your blog is so cute! I love it and can’t wait to read more… I just started my blog about two months ago – it is so addicting πŸ™‚ Check it out if you get a chance: http://oatsandspice.wordpress.com

31 01 2011
Lauren @ Fun, Fit and Fabulous!

Wow you are a busy girl, but at least they sound like fun things!! We miss you here in Dallas! That recipe looks absolutely delicious, you go girl!

31 01 2011
(what runs) Lori

Good luck with all the recruiting- that actually sounds like fun!

And those dishes! They look super filling! Yum!

2 02 2011
Ayla

Lenbarshri? Haha, I love the name! The salad looks really good. πŸ™‚

Good luck with all the recruiting you’re doing!!

Leave a Reply

