Valentines Lips

9 02 2011

Happy Hump Day!

In celebration of the upcoming holiday I have snacked on a few chocolate M&M’s, and came to work with some Valentines Lips….aka red-ish chapstick and a little gloss on top 🙂

Pucker up!

So not seductive at all lol….

I made Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili

Adapted from this recipe at eating well

  • 1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium-large sweet potato, peeled and diced
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 4 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground chipotle chile (see Note)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/2 cups water
  • 2 15-ounce cans black beans, rinsed
  • 1 14-ounce can diced tomatoes
  • 4 teaspoons lime juice
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  1. Heat oil in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add sweet potato and onion and cook, stirring often, until the onion is beginning to soften, about 4 minutes. Add garlic, chili powder, cumin, chipotle and salt and cook, stirring constantly, for 30 seconds. Add water and bring to a simmer. Cover, reduce heat to maintain a gentle simmer and cook until the sweet potato is tender, 10 to 12 minutes.
  2. Add beans, tomatoes and lime juice; increase heat to high and return to a simmer, stirring often. Reduce heat and simmer until slightly reduced, about 5 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in cilantro.

**I chopped up 2 jalepeno peppers and threw them in, and instead of EVOO I used cooking spray, and added a few splashes of hot sauce….I like my chili fiery 🙂

with a lovely bunch of cilantro in it and a side of Honey dew Buddha’s Brew Kombucha (in a washed out synergy bottle) for lunchie 🙂

PS. I have my personal trainers interview today with 24-hour fitness! 🙂 wish me luck!

Actions

Information

18 responses

9 02 2011
Dawn

I just commented on another blog how this was the best chili I have had recently. My friend Justine brought me in a bowl and I LOVE sweet potatoes so, of course, this was top on my list.
Love the Valentine lips!

9 02 2011
Salah

I love this chili! Prob one of my new absolute favorites!

9 02 2011
Heather

Hey now sexy lips 🙂

9 02 2011
Salah

hahaha 🙂

9 02 2011
Lisa @ I'm an Okie

yeah, you’ve got some sexy lips!!

9 02 2011
Salah

haha thanks girl! lol thats what I was going for…jk!

9 02 2011
movesnmunchies

you are so so pretty! and chilli sounds so comforting right now!

9 02 2011
Salah

thank you ma’am…its super cold here in Austin and chili was the thing that sounds AMAZING to me!

9 02 2011
lindsay

oh lots of luck today! I know you will rock it. Just give them that pucker face, hehe.

9 02 2011
Salah

haha I guess the red lips worked b/c I got the job! 🙂 Thank you for the good luck!

9 02 2011
Pengen Pakai Jilbab, Salah ga kalau…? :: Membesarkan Payudara

[…] Valentines Lips « My Healthiest Life […]

9 02 2011
MegSmith

You are gorgeous! I LOVE that recipe…I made something similar/less chili-y though and it was delicious. Sweet potatoes and black beans were made for each other. Good luck with your interview!

P.S. Take on the kale chip challenge, it is so easy you will love it!

9 02 2011
Salah

I know! Sweet potatoes and black beans = amazingness! and I will definitely be making some kale chips as soon as I get back in town Monday!

9 02 2011
Michelle (Housewife in the Raw)

Good luck! Hope it all goes well.

9 02 2011
Salah

Thank you ma’am! 🙂

10 02 2011
Ayla

I hope your interview went well!!!! 🙂

That sweet potato and black bean chili sounds amazing.

10 02 2011
candicemccoy

Congrats on getting the job (saw it in above comment:)!!!! I’m so excited for you and can’t wait to hear all about it. lately I’ve been re-contemplating getting my PT certification – you make me really want to do it! You must tell the details of your job asap!

12 02 2011
Lyddiegal

your chili sounds really tasty, i love sweet potatoes!

Leave a Reply

