Getting Started on My Bucket List

21 02 2011

Happy Monday Everyone!

That week-long break was super nice.  I’m still not going on Facebook for a long while…its been so nice not going on there and spending hours looking at pictures of people and spending more time in His Word and gathering my thoughts together.

This past week has been very long, and not really a fun birthday week like I had hoped for.  I got back from Cali on Sunday at midnight and then worked Monday 9-5 like usual.  Woke up on Tuesday and did the same.  Wednesday I woke up and over the past couple weeks I’ve had a lot of outside stuff on my mind.

 Wednesday was by far the hardest day for me.  As me and my boyfriend broke up. He is an amazing person, with a wonderful heart.  There comes a time when one puts off dealing with past issues for so long that it begins to affect the relationship.  I wish I didn’t have to be put in a position where I have to deal with these certain issues, but I know it will be good in the long run. It would not have been beneficial for our relationship to stay together while I struggle to find myself again and put off breaking down these walls I’ve built up from past experiences.  It is just so hard having to say goodbye to someone you care about so much.

Thursday I worked 8-6, and Friday 9-7, Saturday 10-8 (10-6 Austin marathon expo, and 6-8 recruiting for vb). Sunday I worked 6-1:30 at the Austin Marathon.

I have no idea how many hours that is exactly, nor do I have any desire to count, but its a lot to do on top of studying and celebrating my birthday (this past Friday). I’m extremely exhausted from a long week at work and a very emotional week on top of that. 

However, working the marathon has inspired me to really get started on my bucket list. 

One of the items on my bucket list is to run a marathon. So, I have signed up to run the Rock N’ Roll Marathon on June 5 in San Diego, CA with one of the most beautiful women, and one of my best friends, Laura.

I got my training plan from Runnersworld, and I’m doing the intermediate training program.  I know I have never run a marathon and should be doing the beginners, BUT, it looked too easy…a lot of it is already stuff that I do and I really want to CHALLENGE myself. 

HAVE YOU EVER RUN A MARATHON?

IF SO, WHAT IS SOME ADVICE YOU CAN GIVE ME?

WHAT ARE SOME OF YOUR BUCKET LIST ITEMS?

I’m off to go rest and enjoy my day off from work.  Tomorrow I’m getting back into the hustle and bustle of things, and the fact that I’m feeling a little under the weather means that rest is very much NEEDED!

Have a wonderful day/week!  So happy to be back, I can’t wait to catch up on everyone’s bloggies!

Actions

Information

16 responses

21 02 2011
Lisa @ I'm an Okie

So sorry to hear about you and your boyfriend. At least you were really busy so you had something to take your mind off of it!

I don’t think I’d ever want to run a marathon–took much training time, too many long runs. Halfs seem to be better for me.

21 02 2011
Salah

haha yeah, I guess we’ll see how this one goes…I’ve never run 26 miles before, but I have run 13, so I just wanted to double it to really challenge myself. I’m going to die, no doubt, but I just want to do it lol

21 02 2011
Heather (Heather's Dish)

girl, you gotta do what you gotta do. life isn’t always about easy choices, but you do have to watch out for what your needs are! as for the marathon, you know i think you’re crazy but would LOVE to (maybe) come watch! challenging yourself is always a good things as long as you’re able to let go if need be 🙂

21 02 2011
Salah

aw scissor that would be so awesome if you could come watch! haha any cheerleaders will help! lol

21 02 2011
lindsay

wow girl, I am so sorry. But I know that God had that in his plans for you! A marathon is a great in April. I’d love to meet up for a training run sometime. Big hug. You are so wise!

21 02 2011
Salah

oh yes! That would be wonderful! And thank you for those kind words, they mean a lot!

21 02 2011
Michelle (Housewife in the Raw)

Sorry about the breakup. ((hugs)). I’m doing a Bible study of David right now and was reading today about the difference in our timing and our plans vs. God’s. Let Him love on you and show you what He has next. Eat some chocolate too. 🙂

Good luck with the marathon training. I look forward to reading about it!

21 02 2011
Salah

Thank you! That’s the hardest part to deal with is the timing of it all, but you are so right, its all a part of HIS plan!

21 02 2011
cbrady3

A Marathon is on my bucket list too, and I’m running my first in April! My advice would be to stretch and foam roll after every single run, no matter the distance. Skip a run during the week if you’re sore…you will be fine. And EAT! I’m gorging myself on carbs lately and it is going straight through me.

21 02 2011
Salah

Thanks girl! I’ll definitely make sure to do that! The foam roller is already my best friend 🙂

22 02 2011
Erica

Sorry to hear about the breakup, but it sounds like it will be best for you in the long run!! Get rocking on those bucket list items! I’ve always wanted to run a half or full marathon….I’m hoping to do so after the baby is born 🙂

23 02 2011
Salah

You should totally do it after you have your baby 🙂 Just doing the training gives you a very empowered feeling!

22 02 2011
blackbookkitchendiaries

sorry to hear about the breakup hun …. wish you lots of love and great job on your bucket list!*hugs*

23 02 2011
Salah

thank you 🙂

22 02 2011
eatspinlive

I am sorry about your break up girl! I will most definitely keep you in my prayers! But it is SO EXCITING that you are going to run a marathon! That is going to be such a HUGE accomplishment! My sister and I have been training for our first one on May 1st! I am so, so excited! 🙂

23 02 2011
Salah

thank you girl! And good luck with your marathon! That is so exciting! I hope you’ll blog about it, b/c I’d love to see your thoughts and everything!!

Leave a Reply

