Challenge, Frustrate, Learn, and Love

9 03 2011

Happy Wednesday everyone!

Ash Wednesday to be exact!  Did anyone celebrate Fat Tuesday?

I did…in my head.  I thought about it but I have so much work right now that I don’t have time to actually go out, have a beer and some fried pickles or whatever else during the week!

I did, however have this yesterday 🙂

Another New smoothie:

First you Take these ingredients

2 tbsp of superfood blend

1 scoop of berry amazing grass

1/2 scoop of NuStevia

1/2 c orange juice

1/2 c Coconut milk (vanilla 🙂 )

Then I blend that up until the powders are dissolved

Then I add:

I put in 1/4 frozen avocado

2 frozen banana chunks (prob equal half a banana)

4 frozen mango chunks

4 frozen papaya chunks

Throw it back on the Magic bullet

SHould come out looking a little bit like this

Next week I will have the BEST Smoothie for training.  Yep. You heard right. THE BEST 🙂 Well, I guess the word best describes an opinion, oh well, it is the best!

LENT

I didn’t grow up in a catholic home, but we did always take part in lent.  WHether we went through with the full challenge or not, as a child I always have chosen something to “give up” for lent.

This year I’m going to dedicate at least one day a week to eating nothing but raw, vegan foods.

Why this is a challenge:

I will have to take the time to research different cooking methods.

It will be frustrating because:

I have never cooked vegan meals before.

I am going to learn so much about myself through this.

My LOVE for the Lord will grow more and more because any time I get frustrated with this I will say a prayer to HIM for strength to not get frustrated.

Another Challenge:

I already eat gluten free and for the most part dairy free, but I LOVE cheese.  So my other challenge will to be GF and Dairy Free the ENTIRE time.

This WILL be frustrating.  Learning how to control myself around temptation will be such a wonderful learning experience for me.

Another Challenge, not food related:

Take 5 minutes out of my day everyday to meditate and thank God for everything I have been so blessed with.  I have found myself lacking in this area recently.  I blame it all on being busy, but that’s not excuse.  No matter how busy I am I can always take a few minutes out of my day to show Him appreciation and gratification for EVERYTHING He has blessed me with 🙂

Do you participate in lent?

If so, what are you “giving up” or challenging yourself with?

Why do you participate in lent?

This is my lunch for the whole week ( i had it yesterday, I will have it again today, tomorrow and Friday):

buckwheat and sweet potato soba noodles with WF Spicy Peanut Sauce, Kale, Collard green and spinach, summer squash, tomatoes, garlic, jalepeno

wasabi baked seaweed

Something else I’ve been loving:

*Braids and Red lips 🙂

my hair was held back while I was braiding but the braid ended up looking a little like a headband once my hair was let down

my hair is braided here but I guess it got cut off in the photo lol

This weekend I have my first beach volleyball tournament!  YAY!

Have a wonderful week everyone!

Actions

Information

41 responses

9 03 2011
lindsay

I love that idea for lent. We try to do that with our dinners, one night eat all raw or vegan. Maybe we should try for the whole day instead. CHeers!

9 03 2011
Salah

I usually eat at least one vegan, raw meal a week but I think dedicating a whole day to it will be a challenge. 🙂 You should try it and if you do let me know how it goes!

9 03 2011
Heather @ Heather's Dish

This is crazy…but I’m actually not giving anything up this year! In the past everything I’ve given up has been food related, and so this year rather than focus on food I’m going to focus on God by reading his word every day and praying morning and night. 🙂

9 03 2011
Salah

Love that 🙂

9 03 2011
kat

For lent this year I am giving up my nighttime snack (only tea allowed!) And also am working on letting go of grudges. I know God calls us to let that stuff go, but for some reason I’m hanging on to certain ones. I’m looking to let those go for good this time!!

9 03 2011
Salah

Such a great thing!!! I love your lent ideas! I can’t wait to see how it all goes for you 😉

9 03 2011
Carolyn H.

I grew up in the Catholic Church, but we didn’t make a big deal out of lent. I mean I guess I gave things up, but that seems like such a long lifetime ago, I hardly remember.

And… “the best smoothie” – wanna have a smoothie battle? I like to pretend that I’m Smoothie Queen in my house.

9 03 2011
Salah

hahaha I’m always up for a competition! I’m sure your smoothies are better than mine, but nutrition wise, the contents up this upcoming smoothie is EVERYTHING we need for workouts pre and post 🙂

9 03 2011
Natalie @ Will Jog For Food

Good luck with going raw! I went to a raw cooking class and this was SUCH a good raw recipe…

Raw Tacos
2 cups walnuts
1-2 tbsps.namu shoya-(a type of raw soy sauce) to taste
1 tbsp. Olive oil
1 tbsp ground cumin
1 tbsp coriander
1 1/4 tsp. Chili powde
Romaine lettuce leaves, wholer

Put all the ingredients except the lettuce in a food processor and chop coarsely. Spoon over lettuce.

9 03 2011
Salah

omg that sounds amazing! I will definitely be trying that! Thank you so much for sharing and stopping by my silly little bloggie 🙂

9 03 2011
Joslyn @ missfitbliss

Salah! I love your post about your experience with laxatives. Thank you so much for opening up and sharing that with us, seriously! btw, you’ve got some serious culinary skills for your age little lady! That food looks delish:)

9 03 2011
Salah

Thank you ma’am 🙂

9 03 2011
kbwood

“Take 5 minutes out of my day everyday to meditate and thank God for everything I have been so blessed with. I have found myself lacking in this area recently. I blame it all on being busy, but that’s not excuse. No matter how busy I am I can always take a few minutes out of my day to show Him appreciation and gratification for EVERYTHING He has blessed me with”

… sooo beautiful!!!! wow!!! sometimes we get so caught up in our lives and forget to do that. such an encouragement to me!

13 03 2011
Salah

Thank you! You are an encouragement to me as well! 🙂

10 03 2011
bob

Hey, really great blog posts… I’ve enjoyed reading through your blog because of the great style and energy you put into each post. I actually run AceHealth.org, a blog of my personal research and experiences. If you’re interested, I would love to have you on as a guest blogger. Please send me an e-mail: bob.mauer65(at)gmail(dot)com, and I can give you more information. Looking forward to hearing from you.

10 03 2011
Sam (the neurotic yogini)

While I’m not Catholic/religious at all, I am going to try to go the full 40 days with NO alcohol! I’ve already been cutting back and drinking waaay less than I used to.. now for the long haul – 40 days, completely sober.

In addition, I’ll be (loosely) following this detox from lovely blogger Sabine @ the fruit pursuit (http://thefruitpursuit.com/2011/03/06/lets-start-a-detox-revolution/). I will be eating high raw (mostly) vegan fare.. I already bought herbed goat cheese, feta, and a chunk of parm so I won’t be completely vegan but am cutting back the cheese to 1x per day! 🙂

Good luck to you!

11 03 2011
Salah

I’ll definitely take a look at that detox! Thank you for sharing it with me! I don’t drink alcohol often but I think when I say I’m not going to drink alcohol I always end up wanting to drink lol Good luck to you!!!

11 03 2011
the neurotic yogini

god don’t i know it. i already had immense red wine cravings last night! hahah. i’ll just keep pushing through. can’t wait til i go out downtown (btw i’m also in Austin!!) w/ my friends and see their reaction! one virgin mary please! 🙂

13 03 2011
Salah

You are in Austin?! We should try to do a bloggie meetup sometime if you want!

10 03 2011
Erica

What a fun smoothie- so many fabulous add ins! We’re not catholic either, but I had a lot of Catholic friends in college. I usually gave up something for lent with them….I loved the challenge!

11 03 2011
Salah

Definitely! I think its fun to do the challenge 🙂 Makes you grow as a person!

10 03 2011
Michelle {The Lively Kitchen}

I don’t practice Lent, but I do like the sentiment behind it. I’ve got lots of raw vegan recipes on my blog… I really don’t think 1 day a week will be too tough. Smoothie for breakfast, lettuce wraps for lunch, big salad for dinner. Snack on nuts and fruit and some raw macaroons (the Hail Merry brand is good).

If you’re ever in San Antonio, let me know and I’ll hook you up with some raw food!

ps – love the braids.

11 03 2011
Salah

I will definitely be referring to your blog a lot for recipes! Even though I said one day a week I’m really wanting to transition to eating a more raw, vegan diet on a consistent basis. One day a week is just a starting point for me 🙂 Plus, with marathon training it will be a challenge (at least I think it will be).

I should actually be in San Antonio several times this summer and maybe in April as well! I’ll keep you updated! I’d love to do a bloggie meet-up!

10 03 2011
(what runs) Lori

Those wasabi baked seaweed are so good! I eat them daily. 🙂 Love the little saltiness of it.

Superfood smoothie to the rescue!! I need one right about now… 😉

11 03 2011
Salah

I know, I dont know if this is weird or not but I love the nostril-clearing sensation when I eat a piece with TONS of wasabi on it lol.

11 03 2011
Amanda

A beach volleyball tournament sound like so much fun!! And your smoothie looks delicious! I love amazing grass!! I am giving up meat for lent which is propbably going to be a bit challenging but I think it will allow me to really focus on what I put in my body a lot more! Also, I always try to DO something each year too and this year I am going to take a moment each day to reflect upon all of my blessings and thank God for all he has given me 🙂 have a great Friday girl!

11 03 2011
Salah

That’s awesome girl!!! I know you will do great! 🙂 I can’t wait to read on how it all goes for you!

11 03 2011
IHeartVegetables

Gorgeous hair my dear! And I love the red lips 🙂 I’m not formally participating in lent, but I’m going to work on taking time each day to be thankful for EVERYTHING the Lord has done for me 🙂 God is good!

11 03 2011
Salah

I think taking the time for the Lord is the most important part of Lent 🙂

11 03 2011
Allison @ Running With Mascara

Going raw or vegan once a week is a great idea! I’ve been thinking seriously about trying to do the same kind of thing – mostly to push myself to try new things and new cooking methods. I’m such a scared cook. 🙂

Good luck and be sure to post any tasty vegan recipes!

11 03 2011
Salah

yeah, I definitely will!!!

11 03 2011
MegSmith

Gorgeous pictures! I can’t wait to see your raw recipes. I have thought about trying to do that but am afraid I would get really frustrated. Your posts will inspire me I am sure! I’m excited 🙂 That smoothie looks perfect too! I sometimes have a hard time getting them the right consistency but that looks so creamy!

13 03 2011
Salah

Yeah, I think making sure the banana is frozen and adding in a tiny slice of frozen avocado really makes it perfect! 🙂

11 03 2011
Katie @ Nourishing Flourishing

I’ve never used FROZEN avocado in my smoothies. That sounds genius! : )

13 03 2011
Salah

I saw on Oh She Glows one time that she put frozen avocado in one of her smoothies so I tried it and it makes the consistency PERFECT! 🙂

11 03 2011
Gillian

Good luck on your challenge! I am not doing lent this year, but one year I gave up oatmeal cookies 😉

This year I’m already on a candida cleanse so I don’t want to cut anything else out!

13 03 2011
Salah

I’d say that cleanse is going to be challenging enough! 🙂 Good luck with that! Thank you for visiting my blog!

11 03 2011
julie

oh i love your challenges for yourself! i can’t wait to see what you come up with for the days you’re going vegan! i feel like going vegan forces you to be superr creative haha so good luck!

13 03 2011
Salah

Yes! Definitely! I need to start getting my creative juices flowing soon because Mondays and Fridays are my 2 vegan days of the week! 🙂

12 03 2011
Mae

Hello! I just found your blog from a comment you made on PB fingers. Has anyone ever told you that you look like the German actress Franka Potente? I think you’re prettier, but there’s definitely a resemblance. Anyway…I love your blog and your idea about being vegan once a week for lent. Maybe I’ll try it!

13 03 2011
Salah

Hey! I’m so glad you visited my bloggie 🙂 I’ve never heard that I look like Franka, but she’s gorgeous! I’m extremely flattered!

Leave a Reply

