Quickie: Ode to Dates

14 03 2011

Happy Monday!

Obviously today’s theme for the post is dates.

No, not this kind of date:

although that does look like a great evening 🙂

however, this kind of date is what I’m reeeeaaallllyy talking about….I’m trying to give this bad son of a gun a holla

Yep, thats right. He satisfies my cravings. Especially ones that deal with peanut butter…like this experience I had today….

I am in love.

There is nothing you can do or say to me to make me go back to my dateless life.

Nothing.

We will forever be together 🙂

The End.

If you are on Spring Break, what are your plans?

Unfortunately, I don’t have a spring break this year but thats ok 🙂 I love what I’m doing.

When you train for a marathon how much cross training do you do?

This week I’m doing mostly eliptical and bike work.  I hurt my shoulder pretty bad at the beach vb tourney this past weekend in Houston and I can’t hardly lift it, and it even hurts when i run :-(. AGH! 

How do you cook with dates?

I know there are tons of raw recipes I can use these dates for, but as of right now I’m pretty hooked on just eating them plain or warming them up in the microwave with PB in the middle and some cinnamon sprinkled on top. BOMB!

I’m off to go study, NASM CPT Test this Saturday!  Wish me luck 🙂 !!

Actions

Information

26 responses

14 03 2011
lindsay

oh I just ate a date like that, yours looks better. haha!

15 03 2011
Salah

haha That picture was taken off the internet….don’t be fooled lol i made a big mess when I ate mine!

14 03 2011
Jessica @ Dairy Free Betty

🙂 I LOVE peanut butter stuffed dates!! SO good!!

15 03 2011
Salah

Yes they are! 🙂 So bomb!

14 03 2011
Amanda

What a cute post! 🙂 Can you believe I have never had a date? I need to try one! I am sorry about your shoulder! I really hope it feels better soon! For cross training, I usually do it on all but one of my “off” days running. I love spinning, weight lifting, YOGA, and swimming!

15 03 2011
Salah

You’ve never had a date?! Well, I had my first one a few weeks ago lol.

15 03 2011
Heather

GOOD LUCK!!!!! 🙂

i like making balls out of nuts and dates processed together…kinda like larabars 🙂

15 03 2011
Salah

mmmmm 🙂 I’ll have to do that next week!

15 03 2011
Emma (Sweet Tooth Runner)

HAHA dates are the BEST!! They are literally an addiction of mine…I have SO many a day!! 😛 And I HAVE to try them your way- looks AMAZING! 😀

15 03 2011
Salah

yes! Make sure you microwave them….thats the best!

15 03 2011
Erica

I honestly have not done a lot of cooking or baking with dates. I would love to branch out, but the man is not a date fan….so I will have to find something I want all to myself 😉 Cross training is super important! When I was training to run a half, I would make ~ half of my workouts running and half cross training=body pump, body attack, body step & spin

15 03 2011
Salah

Great advice! I’ll be trying that for sure! For now, everything will have to be cycle or eliptical b/c the running hurts my shoulder :-/

15 03 2011
Jen @ keepitsimplefoods

I am a huge fan of dates! I like to chop them up and roll them into peanut butter power bombs!

15 03 2011
(what runs) Lori

I used to eat dates with almond butter daily. It was bad. They are SOOOOOOOOOO GOOD together, don’t you agree?
So, I’m thinking you should make a dish with melty dates… like cooking them, they’d melt when heated… I think. Challenge? 😉
Let me know and we can experiment and blog it together! (Can you tell I like a creative recipe challenge???)

15 03 2011
Salah

Oh yes! That sounds awesome! I will definitely try to do a little something with that! Maybe this Saturday? We will be in touch….LOVE this idea girl! 🙂

15 03 2011
Lauren @ Fun, Fit and Fabulous!

I LOVE dates!! I haven’t ever tried them warmed with peanut butter but that sounds out of this world amazing! I made raw oatmeal balls using dates, raisins, peanut flour paste, oats, chia seeds, vanilla extract and cinnamon and they were delicious! I completely agree that dates are the bomb dot come!

When I’m training for a race I usually lift twice a week and do yoga 2-3 times a week for cross training.

Good luck with your test!

16 03 2011
Salah

Yes! They are sooo good! I’m in the middle of making a yummy breakfast brown rice concoction right now with dates 🙂

16 03 2011
the neurotic yogini

I’ve never used dates but am interested in giving them a try! What would you recommend??

16 03 2011
Salah

I would recommend heating them up in the microwaved, then putting a little bit of PB and some cinnamon on top 🙂 I will be posting another recipe tomorrow using dates and brown rice and its going to be bomb!

16 03 2011
MegSmith

I have picked up packages of dates and put them down for the last time!!! I am going to buy some the next time I am at the store! Anything I can put PB on is a winner!

17 03 2011
Salah

Yes! Do it! Such a great money investment 🙂 lol and they taste amazing with PB!

17 03 2011
mindrunningwild

oh dates. how I love thee. I had some this morning with nut butter and I swooned. I think I’m in love 🙂

17 03 2011
Running With Mascara

Good luck with your test!

When I train for marathons, I always do 1day of cross-training (usually swimming), and on at least one shorter-run day, I do strength training as well.

18 03 2011
Salah

Thank you ma’am! 🙂

Yeah, I’ve been incorporating a little more cross training and I’m seeing a lot better results in my total training! 🙂

17 03 2011
Katie @ Nourishing Flourishing

Mmm…nothing beats a date filled with nut butter….!!! *drool*

18 03 2011
Salah

so good right? Definitely a fav 🙂

Leave a Reply

