Howard Cole

21 03 2011

My family is my everything.

They mean more to me than anything.  They love me regardless and are my very best friends.  If I’m not blood related to someone and I call them a best friend that means they are practically family to me.

I cherish every. single. moment. with my family.

In the past, I never got to say goodbye to my mimi when she passed, nor my papa when he passed this October.  This Sunday my grandpa passed, and I had the opportunity after my CPT test on Saturday (which I did pass) to drive down to Leakey, TX to see him and say goodbye.  I drove down and did just that.

It was bittersweet.  He is no longer in pain, he now gets to be with my mimi and they get to do the jitterbug for eternity together in heaven.

My grandpa, Howard Cole, is one of the most respectable people I’ve been so blessed to have him in my life. He loved the Lord with all his heart, he had so much love and compassion in him.

On Saturday night we flipped through old slides and him and my mimi were like super models. Both of them were just absolutely breath taking.

He had a love for dogs

He loved photography.

He loved motorcycles, especially Harley Davidsons.

He loved flying.

He would always tell his daughters before they drove somewhere to “ride low and slow” as opposed to high and fast 🙂

Grandpa, I love you with all my heart.  You will be greatly missed.

*Salah*

Actions

Information

21 responses

21 03 2011
janetha

Great job on passing your test and I am glad you were able to say goodbye to your grandpa. This is a beautiful post.

21 03 2011
Salah

Thank you 🙂

21 03 2011
Lisa @ I'm an Okie

Touching tribute. I am so happy you got to say your goodbyes.

21 03 2011
Salah

me too 🙂 Thank you

21 03 2011
Heather @ Heather's Dish

I love that photo of him 🙂

22 03 2011
Salah

I love it too 🙂

21 03 2011
lindsay

I’m so glad you got to say goodbye. Praying for your family.

22 03 2011
Salah

Thank you very much ma’am. So blessed to have such wonderful blog buddies like you 🙂

21 03 2011
Kelly @ Laughter, Strength, and Food

I’m so sorry for your loss. It must have been so special to get to say goodbye. Thinking of you. 🙂

22 03 2011
Salah

Thank you very much

21 03 2011
Jessica @ Dairy Free Betty

Beautiful post, sorry for your loss, sending you love!

22 03 2011
Salah

Very much appreciated! Thank yoU!

22 03 2011
(what runs) Lori

What a wonderful, heartfelt post. 🙂 I’m glad he is safe in Heaven and you were bless to have him and blessed to have a wonderful family.
Lots of love sent your way, Salah!

22 03 2011
Salah

Thank you so much 🙂 and I agree I am extremely blessed to have such an amazing family 🙂

22 03 2011
Lettuce Choose Healthy

im so sorry for your loss. Family IS everything. sending love your way ❤

22 03 2011
Michelle {The Lively Kitchen}

Sorry for your loss. How wonderful to have such a Godly man leading your family for so long. I love his smile in that picture – I bet he gave great hugs. He looks like a good hugger.

24 03 2011
Salah

He was the best hugger 🙂 thank you for your kind words!

24 03 2011
Amanda Meadows

Salah,

I completely agree that family is everything and the most important thing in this world! I am really close to mine too. This post was so beautifully written and I am so glad that you were able to say good bye. You and your family are all in my prayers.

24 03 2011
Salah

I am glad I got to say goodbye too. Thank you so much for keeping us in your prayers! So blessed to have such wonderful blog friends!

26 03 2011
MegSmith

What a wonderful post. I am sorry for your loss. I recently lost my grandpa. It is so nice that you got to say goodbye before he passed on. Loved the pictures, thank you for sharing.

28 03 2011
Samantha Angela @ Bikini Birthday

So sorry for your loss 😦

Leave a Reply

