Drive

22 04 2011

Hello All!

Today I am driving straight to San Antonio to see my parents for the night!  WAHOO!!! and then back to ATX Saturday morning to train a few clients, work on some materials for a presentation, and kayaking and/or stand up paddle boarding with my buddy David! 🙂

I want to update ya’ll on my most recent news with marathon training and other workouts:

*I cannot afford the trip to San Diego in June, nor can I run longer than 15 miles (I found out recently) without my compartment syndrome really acting up.  SO….the verdict?  I am no longer doing the San Diego Rock N’ Roll Marathon :-(.  I was super bummed, and still am because I was truly looking forward to running this race with my friend Laura, but hopefully one day I’ll be able to run longer than 15 miles without my leg going numb!

*I have also been working with a trainer here at 24-hour fitness who has been practicing Muay Thai and Jiu Jitsu for the past 12 years and teaches it as well.  He is a BALLA!  I have actually thought about looking into possibly doing MMA or something like that.  I am really enjoying it ya’ll….never thought of myself as a fighter in the sense of actually punching people etc. but its FUN!  I haven’t actually hit a person, just pads but I have found out recently that I’m pretty good at this stuff! 🙂

Here is what Jiu Jitsu looks like: Its all floor work, no punching, kicking, biting etc.

Here is what Muay Thai looks like: Its standing with footwork, kicking, punching, etc.

the guy kicking has really great hip rotation 🙂 thats what I'm working on right now

So, I thought that since I got wireless at home I would be more inclined to blog on a more consistent basis but right now my life is so hectic I barely find time to even sleep!  (As of right now, I’m running on about 2 hours of sleep). However, even thought I had to wake up early to go train a client this morning and then head to the non-profit to put a few finishing touches on these events coming up May 1 and 4, I was still happy when I woke up.

Why?

I love what I do.  I don’t know why I didn’t start personal training sooner.  Yeah, of course there are times when I get frustrated with lack of motivation in clients etc. but at the end of the day I am driven by the pure thought of making a difference in anothers life.

I am also driven by the Lord.  He has blessed with me so much and I want nothing but to spend my time here on Earth paying it forward.  Yes, I do have my times when I slip up, and sometimes I don’t make the best judgements but at the end of the day I’m truly grateful for the challenges, hardships, and victories in my life.

I am also in LOVE with the simple things in life….like watching videos of cats trying to figure out a treadmill:

or my amazing doggie arnie 🙂

For yoga and running to help open my mind and body

For a wonderful family and great friends who always support me in all my endeavors 🙂

Dad, Me, Mom, Big Scissor, and Brother-In-Law

Caitlin, Me, Ali, and Katherine

It really makes me happy to know that everyday I can wake up truly enjoying my life, my job, and just being me because I am living my life through Him, and hopefully touching peoples lives through kindness, compassion, joy, sorrow, and any other kind of emotion out there 🙂

I hope everyone has a very blessed Easter!