23, Perky and Ruthless

25 04 2011

Happy Monday Everyone!

How was your day so far?  Today has been jam packed to the brim with stuff to do, and still has yet to slow down.  I’m taking a break from working on a presentation that I’m giving tomorrow in Dallas to write this post, then its back to work!  I probably won’t sleep much at all tonight, if I get any sleep but thankfully I don’t train anyone till 11pm on Wednesday so I can sleep in a little once I get back into Austin!

Today I was training an older lady and she made a comment to me about wanting to feel young again and I thought to myself, do I really feel young or do I tend to commit to so many things that I don’t get a chance to live my life?

Well, I would say the past 2 years I didn’t live as much as I probably could have or should have but it got me to the point that I’m at right now where I am able to prioritize things in my life but still get to be a fun, perky, ruthless 23 year old single girl :-).  Now, I’m not going crazy, getting all kinds of wasted, acting a fool or anything like that but I went out on St. Patricks day with my girls,

Me and my girl Stephanie

me and Katie Jo 🙂

I have gone to a few girls nights at Glorias (mexican food place here)

Christa and I

Chris, me, Christa, and Lauren

and enjoyed my weekends by kayaking and soon paddle boarding and experiencing new things!

I have made some amazing new friends, formed a family with some co-workers and will be moving into a house with them in July.

I have also adopted my best friend David’s puppy Veta as my own 🙂 and I got to puppy sit this past weekend!

Isn’t she adorable??

Tonight I did Lori’s Dirty 30 workout…if you haven’t tried it and need something quick that will kick your bootay, this is the workout!

Tzimmes:

Tzimmes is an eastern European recipe for honey baked carrots. The Yiddish word “meren” means carrots and to increase. Carrots symbolize our hope that we increase our good deeds in the coming year.

*Sweet potatoes

*Carrots

*Prunes

*Brown Sugar (I left that out, and just used cinnamon and a little agave)

*Red Apples

*Onion

*A little H2O

Boil the sweet potatoes, apples and carrots till tender.

Then drain from the water, put in a baking pan (I mashed the sweet potatoes and left the carrots and apple sliced) with the agave, prunes, onion, cinnamon and a tiny bit of water.

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes covered with foil, then take off foil and bake for 10 more minutes.

This is what the dish looks like before the extra "Salah" touch

THis is Post- “Salah” touch….I added a tablespoon of some hazelnut spread, and a tablespoon of freshly ground peanut butter.

This stuff is amazing!!! Beware though, its as addicting as Nutella!!!

Peanut butter, how I love thee

After this next week (grind time for all of us in the Events Department at ACTIVE Life, since Demand Healthy Week starts a week from today!)

I will definitely be in dire need of a pedicure, an eyebrow wax, a facial and possibly a massage….mmmmmmm 🙂

Until then, I’ll stick to my at home treatments:

avocado smashed all over my face

or a mud mask:

and colorless toenails 🙂 I wear tennis shoes ALL day regardless so it doesn’t really matter I guess!

I’m off to put the finishing touches on this presentation!  Later Gators!

WHAT DO YOU DO TO RELAX? 

DO YOU DO AT HOME FACIAL MASKS OR OTHER PAMPERING TREATMENTS?

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE CHECK OUT THE DEMAND HEALTHY WEEK WEBSITE!  I WOULD LOVE FOR EVERYONE TO TAKE PART IN IT!!! 🙂